Herd Of Instinct

Released 2011 | Firepool Records | FR001

1. Transformation (2:01)
2. Room Without Shadows (4:49)
3. Road To Asheville (5:40)
4. Hex (4:35)
5. Blood Sky (5:01)
6. Anamnesis (5:50)
7. Vibrissa (4:47)
8. Possession (4:22)
9. S. Karma (4:43)
10. The Face Of Another (4:20)

Produced by Dave Streett
Engineered and Mixed by Mark Cook, Jason Spradlin and Dave Streett
Mastered by Gayle Ellett and Wayne Yentis in Topanga, California

Published by Djam Karet's new indie label Firepool Records, HERD OF INSTINCT's debut CD was four years in the making. Created in hot pursuit of the darkened, serpentine corridors of contemporary instrumental Progressive Rock music, this self-titled release is truly for fans of King Crimson, Steve Tibbetts, Djam Karet and big picture music.

Following the 2007 demise of their previous band 99 NAMES OF GOD (having spent the previous 10 years as Art Rock anomalies in the Texas music scene) drummer Jason Spradlin and WARR guitarist Mark Cook decided to create a new group. They acquired guitarist and fellow Texan Mike Davison, whose chameleon like approach with NERVEWERKS, added great depth to their musical vision. With their new metamorphosis now complete, the band went into seclusion and began writing all new material, emerging only rarely for a few choice live shows.

Pushing the limits of their own creativity, HERD OF INSTINCT draws from a vast source of influences: multi-cultural music, literary clues, Horror and cinematic film scores, and obscure elements of Rock, Avant-garde, Electronic, Prog, and Psychedelic music. Recording sessions took place in Texas, North Carolina, and various global locations, from 2007-2010. As a live unit, HERD OF INSTINCT performs as a trio, but during this recording process, the band decided to expand into a large-scale entity featuring many guest musicians including Dave Streett, whose secret treaties with such luminaries as Jerry Marotta (Peter Gabriel), Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, XTC), Gayle Ellett (Djam Karet), Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), and Markus Reuter (Tuner) helped bring these all-star musicians into the HERD.

The results are very provocative as evidenced by such songs as "Room Without Shadows," the lysergic "Road To Asheville," the schizoid-frenzy of "Anamnesis," the pagan majesty of "Hex," and the beautiful "Blood Sky" (the albums' lone vocal piece, courtesy of Kris Swenson). With looping samples provided by Steve Tibbetts, impeccable production, deep compositions, and impressive performances by all of the musicians involved, HERD OF INSTINCT is a well-crafted, landmark debut album.